704-576-0901 / [email protected]

Notables from around the Cape Fear Region…as per best scores and other news!

Notables from around the Cape Fear Region…as per best scores and other news!

One of our readers shared these cool tidbits of golf news from the Fayetteville area. Thanks to Janet Williams for these notes.

Guys! I’ve enjoyed keeping up with GolfNorthCarolina over the years and noticed that you guys have seemed to kick things up a notch in terms of news from around the state. I thought you’d be interested in these notes from over here in the Cape Fear area from these last couple of weeks.

Editor’s Note: Yep, Janet we’d love to share these with our readers! As we always say, “Information IN is information OUT.”

Tammy Beshlin won the Bragg Ladies Golf Association’s points day tournament. Penny Anderson was second with Shay McCarty third.

Cypress Lakes
Trent Palmer, Fran Landy, Darrell Caulder and Scott Stanbridge won the Super Bowl tournament. … Low rounds of the week included David Sessoms (77) and Scott Stanbridge (79).

Gates Four
Pat Payson pitched in a 60-yard shot for eagle on the 13th hole, while his playing partner, Carl Casey, chipped in for birdie on the 18th hole. … The Thursday gangsome winners were J. D. Stancil, Jack McGinley, Fred Thompson and Frank McGrath.

Upland Trace
Les Sandy made a double eagle on the par-5 seventh hole. … The Saturday morning group winners were Mitchell Sports, Greg Wyrick, Guy Wall and Ray McLemore. … The Sunday afternoon winners were Wayne Beasley, Ray Crumpler, Thomas Mewherter and Johnny Boyles.

Carolina Lakes
Paul Lombard was the overall winner in the men’s league event. Roland Frechette won the front nine and John Long won the back nine. … Chris Spring was the overall winner in the women’s league event. Frances Valentine won the front nine while Penny Anderson won the back nine.

Hector Ray eagled the par-4 second hole from 170 yards out and Ryan Colburn eagled the 17th hole. … Trey Pugh and Brian Canady won the Super Bowl tournament with Sanjay and Sanjay B. Shah second.

Jerry McIntyre, Jerry Stubbs, David Rogers and Sean Morrow won the Saturday choose-up. … Bill Link, Doug Soles and Tom Southerland won the Old Hackers League. … Best rounds of the week included Bill Link (71) snf Franklink Smith, Kirk Hamilton and Mitch Grier (72).

J.T. Powers, Patrick Meadows, Jeff Nance and Jimmy Stone won the Texas scramble. … Truman Lowery and James Smith won the senior shootout. Ed Williams and Jerry Jolly won the first flight while Everett Davis and Paul Stone won the second flight.

Jose Vigil, Joe Taylor, Bill Simons, Paul Hill and Richard Burger won the Wednesday shootout. … Don Williamson and Dyrck Fanning won the Super Bowl tournament. John Lupher and Dennis Sundel won low net.

Leave a Reply