704-576-0901 / [email protected]

Spurrier, Sharpe repeat as Chick-fil-A golf champs

Spurrier, Sharpe repeat as Chick-fil-A golf champs

— GREENSBORO, Ga. | The South Carolina team of Steve Spurrier and Sterling Sharpe earned a repeat win — and a $120,000 scholarship donation for their school — in the annual Chick-fil-A Challenge golf tournament on Tuesday.

Spurrier and Sharpe shot a 12-under-par 60 to beat Virginia Tech’s Frank Beamer and Dell Curry in a playoff at Reynolds Plantation. Sharpe’s 10-foot putt on the 18th green forced the playoff in the tournament which matched a coach and celebrity alumnus from 10 colleges.

“Sterling made a bunch of crucial putts down the stretch and I pitched in a little,” Spurrier said.

Beamer and Curry won the 2007 event.

The teams were still tied after one playoff hole, setting up a closest-to-the-pin competition. Beamer hit his approach from 150 yards 23 feet from the cup before Sharpe won with a shot 18 feet from the cup.

Alabama’s duo of Nick Saban and Johnny Musso and Georgia Tech’s Paul Johnson and Jon Berry tied for third with 62s, followed by Minnesota’s Tubby Smith and Jim Petersen in the 10-team field.

The tournament was sponsored by the Chick-fil-A Bowl.


The order of finish with scholarship winnings follows:

South Carolina (Steve Spurrier / Sterling Sharpe) -12 (playoff) $120,000

Virginia Tech (Frank Beamer / Dell Curry) -12 $60,000

Alabama (Nick Saban / Johnny Musso) -10 $37,500

Georgia Tech (Paul Johnson / Jon Barry) -10 $37,500

Minnesota (Tubby Smith / Jim Petersen) -9 $25,000

Ole Miss (Houston Nutt / Kris Mangum) -8 $17,500

Wake Forest (Jim Grobe / Billy Packer) -8 $17,500

Kentucky (Rich Brooks / Jared Lorenzen) -4 $15,000

Vanderbilt (Bobby Johnson / Will Perdue) -2 $10,000

Maryland (Ralph Friedgen / Neil O’Donnell) -1 $10,000

A of $350,000 was awarded to the teams by the Chick-fil-A Bowl and an additional $150,000 was raised for other charities, bringing the total charitable purse to $500,000.

Leave a Reply